15 Things Most People Don’t Know About The 24 Hours Of Le Mans

There are not many races that are as good as the 24 Hours of Le Mans. It is not without reason why it has been immortalized in several movies.

People love to watch sports car races. The thrill of cars is awesome. Cars are really fast, and it feels great when you see them. Sports car races are held every year. The most popular race in the world is the Monaco Grand Prix. The Indianapolis 500 is a car race. It happens at the same time as The 24 Hours of Le Mans.

The 24 hours of Le Mans is a race that lasts for 24 hours. It is called the ‘Grand Prix of Endurance and Efficiency. The reason it is a little strange is that the rule for a car to win is based on how far it has gone.

This race is different than other races. It is not like the others where the person who finishes first wins. As popular as it is, there are a few things that a lot of people don’t know about the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

The World’s Best-Known Automobile Race

The Le Man’s race was first held on May 26th, 1923. That is when it started. The last time it was recorded was in 2019. The routes in Le Mans, France, are made for cars. The 24 hours of Le Mans is a famous sports race, and it’s not the only one. It’s just as famous as Monaco Grand Prix and Indianapolis 500.

Qualifying In The Traditional Sense Didn’t Start Until 1963

The race has always started with a Le Man’s start. This is the way it began in 1962 until now. This is a motor race. All the cars line up according to how much horsepower their engines can make. The fastest car goes first and the slowest cargoes last. In the past, it was normal for cars to have a driver in front and a passenger in the back. But when a car set a new time record and was going to take pole position, this changed.

Mazda Is The Only Japanese Manufacturer To Win

In 1991, the Japanese car company Mazda created the Mazda 787B. It had a 2.6-liter rotary engine. This is a new car for people who like sports cars. It is better than the previous Mazda 787. We made history with this car because it was the first time three drivers were in one car. Mazda was the only Japanese car manufacturer to win the race. The 787B was the only car with a rotary engine to ever win.

Klaus Ludwig And Henri Pescarolo Was The Last Two-Man Crew To Win

In 1984, there were two people who made a Porsche. They won and made the car brand proud. Klaus Ludwig and Henri Pescarolo drove a Porsche 956 in Le Mans. They were the last two-man team to win. The distance they covered was 4,900 km. From then on, only three-man crews were allowed. They could only drive 14 hours total in their cars.

Michele Alboreto Was The last Formula 1 World Championship Grand Prix Winner To Triumph At Le Mans

Michele Alboreto is a famous person. He is the last person to win a Formula 1 World Championship Grand Prix with Porsche in 1997. In 1999 and 2000, he entered the competition again. He drove for the Audi sport team but came in second and third, respectively.

The First Motorsport Event Where Someone Sprayed Champagne At The Podium

Dan Gurney and A.J Foyt drove for Ford. They won the 1967 Le Mans race. A car made history by being the first American car to win at Le Mans. A driver won that race by pioneering the tradition of pouring champagne.

The 2010-Winning Audi R15-Plus Of Timo Bernhard Covered The Longest Distance In The Race – 3,362 Miles

The team of three people consisting of German racer, Timo Bernhard together with Romain Dumas and Mike Rockenfeller came in the first place. They were driving for the Audi Joest team. The Audi R-15 Plus, which was used to win the race, was made in 2010 with a 5.5-liter diesel engine and it only had 3,362 miles on it. That is the most miles the engine has gone since 1971.

Frenchman Henri Pescarolo Has The Most Starts

Henri Pescarolo has won Le Mans 4 times. He won three times for the team called Matra and one time for Porsche. The Frenchman also ran in the 24-hour race 33 times. He was very persistent!

The Last Time A Team With Only British Drivers Won Was In 1957

In 1957, Englishman Jack Brabham partnered with another English racer, Ian Raby for the 25th running of the 24 hours of le men. On the 22nd and 23rd of June, a race was held. Two people from Britain were driving a British car, Jaguar. Jaguar won!

The Famous ‘Le Mans Start’, Where Drivers Ran Across The Track, Last Occurred In 1969

The traditional “Le Man’s start” has involved the cars lining up on the track, and then when the flag is waved, everyone runs to their car and starts driving.

In 1970, a lot of people worried about safety. They wanted cars to be parked in a line instead. Drivers had to be in their car and strapped in before the race started.

The 1968 Race Was Postponed Until September Due To The French Workers’ Strike

The 36th edition of the 24 Hours of Le Mans was originally planned to be on the 15th and 16th of June 1968. Protests and general unrest happened a lot, so it gave a reason to change the date from September 28th to 29th in 1968. Pedro Rodriguez and Lucien Bianchi won the J.W Automotive Gulf-Oil Ford GT40 Edition race.

The Most Successful Marque Is Porsche, With 19 Wins

Porsche, the car company, has made history because they have 19 wins. There are four car companies left with the most wins in the Grand Prix of Endurance and Efficiency. That is, Audi, Bentley, Jaguar, and Ferrari.

Jean Rondeau Is The Only Driver To Win The Race In A Car Bearing His Own Name

In 1980, Jean Rondeau and Jean-Pierre Jaussaud teamed up to make a car called the M379B. They won first place in this car. He won the race with Jaussaud after a hard battle with the Porsche 908. Jacky Ickx and Reinhold Joest were driving it.

Appropriately, 24 Manufacturers Have Won The Le Mans 24 Hours

So far, the following car brands have won the 24 hours le men. The cars are Alfa Romeo, Aston Martin, Audi, Bentley, BMW, Bugatti, Chenard & Walcker, Delahaye, Ferrari, Ford Jaguar Lagonda La Lorraine Matra Mazda McLaren Mercedes Mirage Peugeot Porsche Renault Rondeau Sauber-Mercedes Talbot.

Anne-Charlotte Verney Is The Most-Capped Lady Racer At Le Mans

This was a woman racer who entered and raced in the 24 Hours of Le Mans 10 times between 1974-1983. Her highest position in a race was 6th. She had two American teammates, Ralph Kent-Cooke and Bob Garretson. They drove for the Porsche brand in a Porsche 935 race car.

You May Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *